Doll House Raffle Results

Last year, The Cascade Winds sold raffle tickets at the Fall 2019 and Winter 2020 concerts for a beautiful doll house made by one of our musicians, Erik Hoagland.

Due to the pandemic, We were unable to hold the final ticket sale and raffle which was to have been during our Spring 2020 concert.

After learning that Fall 2020 live concerts were unlikely to happen, the Cascade Winds Board decided it should move forward with the raffle using the tickets already sold.

Below is a video showing the raffle and the results.

2020 Fall Concert


Due to the ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic, the 2020 Fall Concert of the Cascade Winds in front of a live audience will not be possible.


Please check back as we hope to make an announcement of future plans for the Cascade Winds in the coming weeks.

2020 Winter Concert

The Cascade Winds Symphonic Band will present its winter concert this Sunday, March 8th at 2:00pm in the Summit High School Auditorium. Admission is free though donations are welcome.

Sunday’s concert program

Leonard Bernstein – Overture to Candide. A fast-paced performance to fancy your senses.

Bert Appermont – Choralia. A delicate and intimate work dedicated to the composer’s father.

Johann de Meij – Symphony No 1, The Lord of the Rings, Mvmt 5 ‘Hobbits’. This happy work has the Hobbits returning to their homes after their perilous adventures.

John Phillip Sousa – Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. Sousa was a Mason, and this march was composed for the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles.

James ‘Red’ McLeod – State Street Strut. This Dixieland number features Ted Burton, Ken Steiger, Erik Hoagland, Barry Crenshaw, and Rick Havern.

Franco Cesarini – Symphony No. 1, ‘The Archangels’. This highly dramatic work focuses on four Archangels: Gabriel, Raphael, Michael, and Uriel.
All donations made to the non-profit Cascade Winds Symphonic Band Association go directly towards operating expenses for the band and are tax deductible to the fullest extent of the law. Your contribution will help ensure the long-term presence of live music in Central Oregon and continue to provide a place for musicians to “make music” for our region. You may make a donation online by using the “Donate Now” button at the top of this post.

Additionally this season we are raffling a doll house. Please take the time to admire this hand-crafted item, carefully built by one of our own fabulous musicians – Erik Hoagland.

See you at the concert, and don’t forget to SPRING FORWARD!

Cheri Redgrave, President & Percussionist
Cascade Winds

2019 Fall Concert

The Cascade Winds Symphonic Band will present the first concert of its 2019-2020 season on Sunday, November 24, 2019 at 2:00pm in the Summit High School Auditorium. Admission is free though donations will be accepted. The performance will commence with a fast paced and dramatic work titled “Synergy Rising,” which the composer, Ryan Nowlin, refers to as a work that captures “a myriad of emotions including intense joy and excitement.” The work features the prominent exploits of the percussion section and creative use of the saxophones. (You’ll simply have to come to the concert to find out what that means!) Two non-traditional (non-Sousa) marches will also be heard, the “Little English Girl March” by D. Delle Cese, and Jerry Bilik’s “Block M Concert March,” along with the recently composed and deeply emotional “Until Morning Come” by Andrew Boss. 

“Tanczi” by the noted Belgian composer, conductor and trombone player, Jan Van der Roost, is one of the two large scale works on the concert. Written in the style of traditional Russian folk music, the work expounds on opposites: melancholy versus fiery temperament, virtuosity versus intimate moments, melodic expression versus spicy rhythms. The concluding work is a delightful transcription by Marco Tamanini of George Gershwin’s timeless classic “An American In Paris.” Gershwin himself explains his rhapsodic composition as “the impressions of an American visitor in Paris as he strolls about the city, listens to the various street noises, and absorbs the French atmosphere.” It’s a tour de force for the concert band and will certainly delight listeners of all ages. ​