Spring Concert 2015 Press Release

The Cascade Winds Symphonic Band, under the direction of Michael Gesme, will present its final concert of the 2014-2015 season on Sunday, May 31, 2015 at 2:00pm in the Summit High School Auditorium. Admission is free, but donations are gratefully accepted.

The performance will open with “American Riversongs,” a pastiche of folksongs from a younger America, including ‘Shenandoah’ and Stephen Foster’s ‘The Glendy Burk,’ cleverly woven together by composer Pierre La Plante. Next will be a pair of works by two composers who share a similar musical esthetic, but have so very little in common. The first is a set of dances from “The Royal Fireworks” by the famous, baroque composer, G.F. Handel.  The second, a work titled “Six Contrary Dances” by the lesser known P.D.Q Bach, will undoubtedly raise a few eyebrows for it’s simultaneous allegiance to and blatant disregard of the compositional traditions of the Bach family. The first half will conclude with John Philip Sousa’s “The Free Lance March.” Considered a medley-march, “The Free Lance” is comprised of several melodies that are drawn from Sousa’s popular 1905 operetta of the same name.

The second half is dedicated to a single work, a new arrangement for wind ensemble of Carl Orff’s most famous composition, “Carmina Burana.”Inspired by a collection of sacred and secular poems, found in a Bavarian monastery, “Carmina Burana” is exceptionally powerful and wonderfully uncomplicated. Using the simplest of harmonies and incessantly repetitious rhythmic patterns, Orff is able to create huge textures of sound that have the power to overwhelm the listener with their cumulative effects. Earl Kelly, a former Professor of Music at Kent State University, has commented that “one can envy any listener [who is having their] first experience with this fascinating, hypnotic and utterly spontaneous music. “Whether this is your first or twenty-first experience with the music of ‘Carmina Burana,’” comments conductor Michael Gesme, “I’m confident you’ll be enchanted by the sonic experience.”

For additional information about this performance and the Cascade Winds please contact Michael Gesme at mgesme@cocc.edu or visit www.cascadewinds.org.

Spring Concert 2014 Press Release

The final concert of the Cascade Winds will be held on Sunday, May 4, 2014 in the Summit High School Auditorium. Admission to the concert is free, but donations are gratefully accepted. COCC professor of music, Michael Gesme, will lead the ensemble in a varied program beginning, appropriately, with “Quirks” by Brant Karrick. By definition, quirks are sudden sharp turns or unpredictable peculiarities and this capricious work takes full advantage of its title; never resting too long on one style, the piece seamlessly and continually transitions between latin, jazz, tango, swing, et cetera. The “Huckleberry Finn Suite” by Franco Cesarini, a piece of intentionally lighthearted disposition, is up next musically describing some of the primary scenes and characters of Mark Twain’s classic. Interspersed with brief readings from the text, the four movements of this work will portray a lazy river town, Jim, The King and the Duke, and Huckleberry Finn himself. Also on the first half will be a march by John Philip Sousa, “Solid Men to the Front!,” and “Carmen Fantasy” with music by Georges Bizet and arranged by Eiji Suzuki. The march was composed in 1918 while the 62-year-old Sousa was serving as Music Director of the Great Lakes Naval Training Station. The fantasy is a wandering pastiche of several of the great melodies from Bizet’s famously scandalous opera, which, in this arrangement, prominently features mallet percussion.

The second half will open with two works by Giovanni Gabrieli, an Italian high renaissance composer famous for church music intended to be performed from opposite sides of the cathedral. The Cascade Winds brass section will simulate this experience with two brass choirs placed on opposite sides of the auditorium. “For those of us who play brass instruments,” comments Gesme, “the music of Gabrieli is one of the high watermarks of composition. It is extremely satisfying to listen to and to play.” The final piece on the concert is the “Sixth Symphony” by James Barnes. This three movement work is very traditional in form, melodic and harmonic language, and is brimming with the wide palate of colors for which Barnes’ compositions are famous–a rousing conclusion to the 2013-2014 season.

Upcoming Music Events

Central Oregon Symphony under the direction of Michael Gesme
October 20-22: Bend High School
Saturday & Monday, 7:30 p.m., Sunday, 2:00 p.m. FREE but tickets required.
Brahms, Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Opus 15, with guest artist Dan Franklin Smith; Sibelius, Symphony No. 3 in C Major, Opus 52. Information: 541-317-3941

Cascade Winds Symphonic Band under the direction of Michael Gesme
Sunday, November 4, 2:00 p.m., Summit High School Auditorium. FREE, no tickets required
Oregon: Haan; Thunder & Lightning: Strauss; Elegy: Chance; The Mad Major: Alford; Alvamar Overture: Barnes; Danza Final: Ginastera; Russlan & Ludmilla: Glinka; Armenian Dances: Reed
Information: 541-383-7516

Cascade Horizon Band under the direction of Sue Steiger
Winter Concert: Monday, November 12, 2:00 p.m., Mountain View High School. FREE, no tickets required
Christmas Concert: Tuesday, December 11, 11:30 a.m., Bend Senior Center, 1600 SE Reed Market
FREE, no tickets required
Information: www.cascadehorizonband.org

Ring Noel!! Central Oregon Mastersingers & The Bells of Sunriver
Saturday, December 8, 7:30 p.m., Sunday, December 9, 2:00 p.m., Tower Theatre
Celebrate the magic of Christmas as the 40-voice choir with harp, directed by Clyde Thompson, performs chorale works for the season including Britten’s “A Ceremony of Carols.” An ensemble from the Bells of Sunriver will present a variety of holiday music such as Infant Holy, What Child is This?, Joyful, Joyful and an upbeat “Jazzy Jingle Bells.” Tickets $16: contact the Tower Theatre 541-317-0700 or visit the Tower website.

Cascade Chorale: 8th Annual Holiday Magic [a benefit concert for Abilitree]
Under the direction of James Knox
Friday, December 14, 7:00 p.m., Sunday, December 16, 4:00 p.m.
Summit High School Auditorium; Ticket cost TBA; information 541-385-7512

Bells & Bellows Christmas Concert
Organist Extraordinaire Mark Oglesby & The Bells of Sunriver in Concert
Friday, December 14, 7:00 p.m., St. Francis Catholic Church, 27th Street, Bend
Saturday, December 15, 7:00 p.m., Zion Lutheran Church, Redmond
Information: 541-593-1635

Opera back in Bend?!!
Be on the lookout for an announcement about the return of an opera company to Bend. Pencil in the afternoon of December 30 for an unveiling event. More details to follow!! Information: 541-593-1635